Thursday, April 19, 2007

Bulletin Notes Area Finalists In Young Writers Competition

Editor's Note:
Poets and writers in each of Connecticut's eight counties win $1,000 prizes annually, awarded during ceremonies at the four CSU campuses. About a dozen finalists in prose and poetry from each county are invited to the regional ceremonies.
Those events for spring 2007 are as follows: Southern Connecticut State University, New Haven, April 23; Eastern Connecticut State University, Willimantic, April 24; Western Connecticut State University, Danbury, April 26; and Central Connecticut State University, New Britain, April 30.
County winners will also be honored during the 10th annual dinner June 1 at the Litchfield Inn. The state winners in prose and poetry will be announced then and invited to a week of festivities in Ireland connected with the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and the Dublin Writers Festival. Their work will also be considered for publication in Connecticut Review, the literary journal published by the CSU System.

  • Young Writers Web Site

  • IMPAC Dublin Award

  • CSU System

  • Complete List of County Finalists

  • International Young Writers

  • Article published Apr 19, 2007
    Local writing to be judged in state contest

    Norwich Bulletin

    County semi-finalists for the IMPAC-CSU Young Writers have been announced and the list includes a number of local students. The contest, now in its 10th year, will name two state winners (one for prose and one for poetry) at a ceremony June 1. They will receive a trip to Dublin, Ireland.

    "I don't know if I'll win, but it would be really cool," said Nicole Rubin, 15, of Norwich. Rubin is a junior at Norwich Free Academy, and one of nine New London County semi-finalists for poetry.

    "I hope I win, but I know that there are a lot of great writers in the state, so it's definitely a competition," she said.

    Judges for the competition indicated work submitted for this year's contest was top-notch, said awards chairman Andy Thibault. The group received 600 entries, a slight increase from past years.

    "We're very excited, because this is our 10th year, and we've given away $150,000, which is a milestone," Thibault said. "Our basic mission remains the same, though, and that is to affirm young writers in the state."

    Four regional ceremonies to announce county winners will be held at state universities throughout the state next week. The New London County and Windham County winners will be announced Tuesday at Eastern Connecticut State University in Willimantic.

    "The story that I wrote was inspired by a picture, and it was originally for my sophomore English class," said Rebecca Mowan, 16, a junior at Montville High School and a New London County finalist for prose. "I entered a few contests to try to win money for college, and I'm happy that I won this one."

    Mowan said the IMPAC-CSU competition especially appealed to her since there wasn't a length requirement for entries, and her stories tend to be long.

    Does she think she'll win, and travel to the state competition?

    "I certainly hope so," Mowan said with a laugh.


    In New London County, for prose:

    Brandy Avellino, Bacon Academy, Colchester.

    Katherine Bossardet, Ledyard High School.

    Zachary Byron, Lyman Memorial High School, Lebanon.

    Hayley D'Amelia, East Lyme High School.

    Valerie Doughty, Ledyard High School.

    Emmett Griffin, Griswold High School.

    Elise Hanks, Ledyard High School.

    Rebecca Mowan, Montville High School.

    Anne Muenchinger, Williams School, New London.

    In New London County, for poetry:

    David Burnham, Williams School, New London.

    Abaigeal Caras, Williams School, New London.

    Rhett Dellore, Norwich Free Academy.

    Greg Elperin, Williams School, New London.

    Elizabeth Evans, Williams School, New London.

    Grace Fischer, Williams School, New London.

    Kathleen Haugae, Williams School, New London.

    Annika Ljungbeg, Williams School, New London.

    Julia Neusner, Williams School, New London.

    Ryan O'Connell, Ledyard High School.

    Nicole Rubin,Norwich Free Academy.

    In Windham County, for prose:

    Jessica Burbach,Woodstock Academy.

    Amanda Carpenter,Woodstock Academy.

    Alyssia Cinami, Woodstock Academy.

    Kelsey Cunningham,Woodstock Academy.

    Kianne Gaylor,Woodstock Academy.

    Lydia Jones,Arts at the Capitol Theater, Willimantic.

    Nina Joy,Woodstock Academy.

    Chris McGinn,Woodstock Academy.

    Candace Powers,Woodstock Academy.

    In Windham County, for poetry:

    Cody Gondyke, Arts at the Capitol Theater, Willimantic.

    Cecily Iturrino, Woodstock Academy.

    Cheryl Ann Lawrence, Killingly High School.

    Alexandra Mancini,Killingly High School.

    Hilary Osborn, Arts at the Capitol Theater, Willimantic.

    Kate Paul,Arts at the Capitol Theater, Willimantic.

    Shelby Rhodes,Arts at the Capitol Theater, Willimantic.

    Allison Stan,Woodstock Academy.

    Jonathan Trudeau, Woodstock Academy.

    No comments: