Sunday, May 27, 2007

Courant Notes Young Writers 10th Annual Dinner

Fete For Young Writers

Hartford Courant Arts Section
Page 2
Sunday, May 27, 2007

The 10th annual IMPAC-CSU Young Writers Statewide Ceremony and Diner will take place Friday at the Litchfield Inn and Bistro East.

At the event, the two state winners in the writing competition, which is sponsored by the Connecticut State University System and the IMPAC productivity firm, will be announced. They will be selected from the winners for prose and poetry from each of the state's eight counties, who were awarded $1,000 prizes earlier this year.

The top winner in poetry and prose will be invited to attend events related to the annual International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and the Dublin Writers Festival in Ireland in June. The IMPAC Dublin award, which will be announced June 14, is 100,000 euros, which is the world's largest prize for a single work of fiction.

The statewide contest has awarded about $150,000 to young writers inConnecticut, and about 4,000 high school students have competed since it began.

Speakers at the dinner Friday will be Amy Ma, who won the statewide poetry award in 2001, and poet Jon Andersen. Ma, a graduate of Conard High School in West Hartford and Wesleyan University, has written a short-story collection and plans to teach high school English in Connecticut. Andersen teaches English at E.O. Smith High School in Storrs and published his first poetry collection, "Stomp and Sing," in 2005.

Masters of ceremony for the event are author Rand Richards Cooper and Ravi Shankar, the poet-in-residence at Central Connecticut State University. The Jen Allen Jazz Combo and the Litchfield High Jazz Combo will entertain.

The event begins with workshops for students at 4 p.m., followed by a reception at 5 p.m. and dinner at 6:30 p.m. Tickets are $35, and seating is limited. For information and ticket availability, call 800-814-6931.

-- Carole Goldberg


*** Last Call: "Official" Dinner Count Deadline Was Friday


Seating Limited

You are cordially invited to attend the

10TH Annual IMPAC-CSU Young Writers
Statewide Ceremony & Dinner

Friday, June 1, 2007
The Litchfield Inn and Bistro East

4 p.m. Workshops
5-6:15 p.m. Reception
6:30 p.m. Dinner

Special Guests

Amy Ma, 2001 State Poetry Champion,
Graduate student, CCSU
Jon Andersen, poet,
English teacher

Co-Masters of Ceremonies

Rand Richards Cooper, Author
Ravi Shankar, Poet in Residence,
English Professor, CCSU

Reception Entertainment

Jen Allen Jazz Combo

$35 per person

Dinner Music by the Litchfield High Jazz Combo

RSVP by May 25, 2007

IMPAC-CSU Young Writers Trust
231 Beach St.
Litchfield, CT 06759

800-814-6931 or 860-690-0211

  • Young Writers Web Site

  • IMPAC Dublin Award

  • CSU System

  • International Young Writers
  • No comments: