Friday, April 24, 2009

First Home School Young Writers County Champion In Program's 12-year History

2009 Fairfield & Litchfield County Champions with Western Connecticut State University President James Schmotter and CSU System Chancellor David Carter Thursday night, from left to right: Kevin Redmond, Clarissa Burch, Emma Lowenberg and Amanda Ball.
-- Photo by J Thompson Pease

WestConn Young Writers Results
APRIL 23, 2009


DANBURY, CT, April 23, 2009 -- Young poets and writers from Fairfield and Litchfield counties were announced as regional champions Thursday night in the 2009 Connecticut Young Writers Competition. They include the first home school county champion in the program's 12-year history.

During ceremonies at Western Connecticut State University, the quartet was among 45 poets and writers honored as county finalists.

The poetry county champions are: Amanda Ball, 17, of Greenwich Academy, for her poem, "Snapshots Denied;" and Kevin Redmond, 17, of Torrington High School, for his poem, "The Cold Stare Of Infinity."

The prose county champions are: Emma Lowenberg, 16, of the Lowenberg Home School in Redding, for her story, "Bernard;" and Clarissa Burch, 15, of New Milford High School, for her story, "Missing You."

The competition has inspired the participation of over 580 students this year -- the third highest number of entries in the competition's 12 years -- and is sponsored by IMPAC and the Connecticut State University System.

County champions for Hartford and Tolland were announced Monday during ceremonies at Central Connecticut State University.

They are: Cara Dorris, 15, of Glastonbury High School, for her poem, "hors de Paris;" Jamie Phillips, 17, of E.O. Smith High School, for her poem, "Longevity;" Leah Shafer, 16, of Simsbury High School, for her story, "Snap;" and Jessica Ruman, 17, of Rockville High School, for her story, "Photo."

The county champions each received $500 checks and were invited to the annual statewide ceremony and celebration May 31 at Mark Twain House & Museum in Hartford. Resuming a long-standing practice, the state champions in prose and poetry will receive additional cash awards during the annual celebration.

Since, 1998, the Trust has given more than $170,000 to Connecticut's best young writers. Another $4,000 will be distributed next week.

About 6,000 students have participated in the program since 1998.

Two more regional ceremonies are scheduled:
*Monday, April 27, at Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven, for Middlesex and New Haven counties; and
*Tuesday, April 28, at Eastern Connecticut State University in Willimantic, for New London and Windham counties.

  • Danbury News Times Features Regional Contenders In Young Writers Competition

    Andy Thibault, Connecticut Young Writers Trust,, 860-690-0211
    Terri Raimondi, CSUS Public Relations,, 860-493-0040

    IMPAC-Connecticut State University System
    Young Writers Trust
    231 Beach St.
    Litchfield, CT 06759

    * 800-814-6931 * Fax- 860-567-9119

  • CSU System Young Writers Page

  • Young Writers Trust

  • The Young Writers Trust is continuing to accept sponsorships for the annual celebration. Recent donations have been received from Vincent Michael Valvo, Group Publisher, The Warren Group [Commercial Record]; the Raap & Vigeant families, Village Pub & Restaurant, Litchfield; Franz Douskey, professor at Gateway Community College in New Haven and President Emeritus of IMPAC University, Punta Gorda, FL; Dr. David Carter, the CSU System Chancellor; Dr. Joseph Bentivegna of Rocky Hill, the eye surgeon and novelist; Dr. William Cibes, the CSU System Chancellor Emeritus; Pat Steier of PS Art Gallery, Litchfield; Anny Gentilin of Charleston, S.C.; Dr. Lauren Doninger, professor at Gateway Community; Fran and Michael Keilty of the Hickory Stick Book Shop, Washington Depot; Ted Murphy of E.J. Murphy Realty, Litchfield; Attorney Jack Horak of Reid & Riege, Hartford; Attorney Tim Moynahan of Moynahan & Minnella, Waterbury; novelist Denning Powell of West Hartford; Attorney Bill Crowe of Mayo Crowe, Hartford; David and Ginger Dean of Litchfield County Commerical, Torrington; and Jeff Lalonde of Torrington Savings Bank. In addition, the Trust has received a number of substantial pledges for the annual celebration from long-time sponsors.

    Business Card Ads in Program, $250;
    County Award Co-Sponsors, $500.
    * The Trust has also gratefully accepted
    donations in smaller denominations.

    Click below on invitation to annual celebration
    @ Mark Twain House & Museum ..

    No comments: