Tuesday, December 18, 2007

Entry Deadline Nears For Young Writers: $1,000 Prizes & Dublin Trip

For more information:
Diane Casaretti 203-261-1549
Andy Thibault 860-690-0211



ENTRY FORM link at bottom of this post

This announcement sent Tues., 12-18-07


Entry Deadline Looms

CONNECTICUT December 18, 2007 - "Express yourself … to respect yourself."

That's how Madonna sang it. The Connecticut State University System and IMPAC Control Systems Inc. again present the annual Young Writers competition for what the Queen of Pop said - to enable youths to express themselves.

Young writers ages 13-18 during the school year must submit their work and entry forms postmarked no later than Feb. 1, 2008. Public, private or home school teachers must sign the form and nominate the poets and writers. Contestants are encouraged to submit any prose or poetry to IMPAC-CSUS Young Writers 2008 at the state university closest to their county. Addresses are listed on the entry forms.

Contacts include:

* Dr. Susan Gilmore, Department of English at Central Connecticut State University in New Britain, for Hartford and Tolland counties.

* Dr. Christopher Torockio, Department of English at Eastern Connecticut State University in Willimantic, for New London and Windham counties.

* Dr. Tim Parrish, Creative Writing Coordinator at Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven, for Middlesex and New Haven counties.

* Betsy McDonough, Office of the President at Western Connecticut State University in Danbury, for Fairfield and Litchfield counties.

IMPAC, a leading global productivity firm, sponsors the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, which at 100,000 euros is the largest in the world for a single work of fiction.

The young writers competition in Connecticut has given more than $150,000 to Connecticut's best young writers since 1998. About 4,000 young writers have participated in the program.

Poets and writers in each of Connecticut's eight counties win $1,000 prizes annually, awarded during ceremonies at the four CSU System campuses. About a dozen finalists in prose and poetry from each county are invited to the regional ceremonies.

"We are pleased to work with IMPAC and the Young Writers Trust in recognizing the extraordinary writing of Connecticut's young people," said Dr. David Carter, Chancellor of the Connecticut State University System."

County winners will also be honored during the 11th annual dinner in June at the Litchfield Inn. The state winners in prose and poetry will be announced then and invited with a parent to a week of festivities in Ireland connected with the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and the Dublin Writers Festival.

Their work will also be considered for publication in Connecticut Review, the literary journal published by the CSU System.

IMPAC Chairman Jim Irwin and retired CSU System Chancellor Bill Cibes expanded the Young Writers Program from Litchfield County to cover the entire state in 2000. Chancellor David Carter, formerly president of Eastern Connecticut State University, has been a champion for the program and has undertaken initiatives to expand participation.

The CSU System serves more than 35,000 students, making it the largest public university system in Connecticut. A total of 166 academic programs are offered throughout the system, and more than 5,000 degrees are awarded annually.

Entry forms were sent to all public, private and parochial secondary schools this fall. Entry forms and rules can also be downloaded from www.ctstateu.edu or www.ctyoungwriters.org

For the 2008 competition, entry forms are being accepted at the four CSU campuses.

Regional events for spring 2008 are as follows: Monday, April 21 at WCSU for Fairfield and Litchfield counties; Wednesday, April 23 at CCSU for Hartford and Tolland counties; Monday, April 28 at ECSU for New London and Windham counties and Tuesday, April 29 at SCSU for Middlesex and New Haven counties.

Entry Form 2008.

Letter to Teachers, Guidance Counselors, and Principals.

  • CSU System

  • Young Writers Trust

  • No comments: