Sunday, April 17, 2011

CT Young Writers Smash Record; Super Star Lineup Set For Annual Celebration At CCSU

Barnes & Noble CCSU Bookstore
Will Be The Book Vendor For This Event

  • Bookstore Contact Info.

  • Seating
    For June 11;
    Draft Invitation Below

    Of Announcement By CSU System

    A record number of Connecticut students have submitted entries in the 14th year of the Connecticut Young Writers Competition, an annual contest which highlights works of poetry and prose submitted by teenagers from throughout the state. There were 806 entries received, surpassing last year’s previous all-time high of 795. It’s the first time that a record number of entries were received in back-to-back years ...

    -- El Bardo The Legend with 2000 New Haven County Poetry Champion Katie Perkins [Westover School] and Bill Cibes

    ... The state champion poetry prize will be given in honor of Leo Connellan, the late CSUS poet in residence and Connecticut Poet Laureate. Connellan, known as “El Bardo The Legend” was a founder of the Young Writers Competition. His trilogy, The Clear Blue Lobster Water Country, won the Shelley Memorial Award ...

    -- Wally Lamb with 2000 Prose Champion Julia Wong [Hopkins School], Poetry Champion Adrian Kudler [Hall High School] and Diane Smith

    ... The state champion prose prize will be given in honor of Wally Lamb, the acclaimed novelist and workshop leader for inmates of the Niantic prison. Lamb, author of books including The Hour I First Believed, I Know This Much Is True and She’s Come Undone, was a keynote speaker and workshop leader for the Young Writers Competition in 2000, and is a long-time supporter of the competition.
    Reception entertainment will be provided by The Jen Allen Big Band / Cosmic Jibaros, featuring progressive jazz / Latin rock fusion ...

    ... It is anticipated that 30 finalists will be invited to a special awards ceremony on the evening of June 11, 2011 at Central Connecticut State University (CCSU), with the statewide winners in prose and poetry to be announced as the highlight of the program. The statewide winners in each category will receive $1,000, and other top finalists will receive financial awards from the Connecticut Young Writers Trust ...

    -- Cosmic Jibaros Leader Ricardo Reyes At The Hartford Club, 6-3-10

    ... During the day on June 11, Charlotte Crowe, the 2005 state prose champion, will lead workshops for the student finalists in cooperation with fellow keynote speakers Patricia Smith and Bruce DeSilva. Smith’s fifth book of poetry, Blood Dazzler, was a National Book Award finalist. Smith’s husband, DeSilva, is the author of the highly praised first novel, Rogue Island. He is a retired writing coach for the Associated Press national desk and The Hartford Courant. Crowe, Brown University Class of 2011, interned last summer with the poetry editor of The New Yorker. She is a graduate of Greater Hartford Academy and Canton High School ...

    STATEMENT: 4-15-11:
    “The strong response of Connecticut students reflects the commitment of a great many people - including teachers and volunteers - to encourage writing, but most of all it demonstrates the high level of talent, creativity and dedication that exists among students all across our state,” said Louise H. Feroe, CSUS Acting Chancellor.

    -- 2010 STATE PROSE CHAMPION SHELDON GASKELL with Connecticut State University System [Acting] Chancellor Louise Feroe and Diane Smith

  • Complete Announcement

  • Patricia Smith & Bruce DeSilva Interview Each Other

  • Register Citizen Story On Record-Breaking Number Of Entries

  • Photo Gallery, Dionysiac Deadline Demo



    * biz card in program, $250

    * finalist sponsor, $500

    * state champion sponsor, $1,000

    all donations greatly appreciated and publicly acknowledged

    --------------plz send checks 2

    CT Young Writers Trust
    390 Shore Drive, Branford CT 06405

    501 (c) 3 Federal Tax ID: 31-1635811

    thank you thank you thank you

  • Young Writers Trust Website Hosted By CSU System

  • Ct Young Writers Trust Facebook Page

  • Twitter@CtYoungWriters

  • CT Young Writers Trust Website [In Development]

  • twitter@cooljustice

  • State Finalists Will Be Identified Sometime In May
    And Invited To The Annual Celebration

    Annual Celebration
    Sat., June 11, 2011
    At Central Connecticut State University

    draft INVITATION
    Seating Limited

    You are cordially invited to attend the
    14TH Annual CT Young Writers
    Statewide Ceremony & Dinner

    Saturday, June 11, 2011
    Central Connecticut State University
    Constitution Room / Davidson Hall & Torp Theater
    4 p.m. Workshops
    5-6:15 p.m. Reception
    With Mass Quantities Of Hors D'oeuvres,
    Cash Bar

    Special Guests
    Charlotte Crowe, 2005 State Prose Champion,
    Brown, 2011; Greater Hartford Academy / Canton HS, 2007
    Patricia Smith, Poet, Blood Dazzler
    Bruce DeSilva, Novelist, Rogue Island

    Co-Masters of Ceremonies
    Rand Richards Cooper, Author,
    Bon App├ętit travel writer
    Diane Smith, Author,
    CPTV Producer/Host of Positively CT
    Ravi 'I Don't Play The Sitar' Shankar
    Poet, CCSU English Professor

    Reception Entertainment
    Jen Allen Big Band / Cosmic Jibaros As One
    Latin Rock-Jazz Fusion

    $50 per person
    RSVP by May 31, 2011

    Checks to CT Young Writers Trust
    390 Shore Drive, Branford CT 06405
    Young Writers Complimentary, everyone else $50

    -- Emma Lowenberg, 16, of the Lowenberg Home School in Redding, accepts $1,000 check and other items Sunday [May 31, 2009] at the Mark Twain House & Museum in Hartford as she is proclaimed State Prose Champion in the 2009 Connecticut Young Writers competition. With Lowenberg, L-R: Franz Douskey, poet and board member of the Young Writers Trust; Dr. Louise Feroe, Vice Chancellor, Connecticut State University System; and Co-Masters of Ceremonies Ravi Shankar, the poet and Central Connecticut State University Professor and Rand Richards Cooper, board member, author and travel writer for Bon Appetit. Lowenberg, one of eight county champions, won for her story, "Bernard."

    No comments: